## Thomas County Board of Commissioners Regular Meeting October 15, 2024

The Thomas County Board of Commissioners convened in open and public session at 8:30 a.m., in the Commissioners meeting room of the Thomas County Courthouse, Thedford, NE. Members present were Pam Moody, Charles Daly and Lewis Herbaugh. Also present were board secretary/County Clerk Lorissa Hartman, County Treasurer Andrea Thomas, road personnel Keith Hartman and Doug Heavican, County Highway Superintendent Lloyd Smith, Norma Butler, Jeri Huddle, and Sheriff Joseph Smith.

Chair Moody stated open meeting guidelines are posted as required by law and copies are available, if requested.

Notice of meeting was given by publication in the Thomas County Herald on October 3, 2024.

Motion made by Herbaugh and second by Daly to adopt the October 15, 2024 regular meeting agenda. Roll call vote: Ayes – Daly, Herbaugh, Moody. Nays – none. Motion carried.

Motion made by Herbaugh and second by Daly to approve the October 4, 2024 regular meeting minutes as published in the Thomas County Herald on October 12, 2024. Roll call vote: Ayes – Moody, Herbaugh, Daly. Nays – none. Motion carried.

## Road discussion:

Road employee Heavican reported that he should be finished shouldering E Windmill Road this week. Other completed projects discussed were soft spots along River Ave, W Windmill Rd and material for Hanna Lane. Upcoming project discussed was Diamond E Ln, this project will be held off until we receive moisture or purchase a water tank to haul water to the area.

Discussion was held on contacting Maseberg's about building a steel frame to hold a water tank or building a metal water tank to be installed in the dump truck. Doug Heavican suggested contacting Ag Sprayer out of Columbus about water tanks also.

Discussion was held with visitors and County Sheriff about Thomas County being named a sanctuary county. Lincoln County Commissioner Micael Wuehler has been working with Jessica Vaughn, policy director for Center of Immigration Studies to get the 20 remaining counties removed from this list. A form is being prepared for the Sheriff to complete.

Discussion was held on the Audit finding from Don Wilson regarding sealed bids. This item was tabled until the November 5<sup>th</sup> meeting so that the County Attorney would be available to advise on a response.

No correspondence to present.

Motion made by Moody and second by Daly to approve claims as presented. Roll call vote: Ayes – Herbaugh, Moody, Daly. Nays – none. Motion carried.

## **GENERAL FUND-**DARRELL L ANDERSEN JUROR FEE 58.32 JUROR FEE PEG ANDERSEN 43.17 APPLIED CONNECTIVE TECHNOLOGIES SERVICES 776.00 ADMIN EXPENSE ARGANBRIGHT LAW OFFICE 600.00 ROBERTA BARNES JUROR FEE 58.18 LOUIS BENAVIDEZ JUROR FEE 46.52 JUROR FEE MATTHEW BROWN 152.88 PAULINE BROWN JUROR FEE 55.64 BRENDA BUECHLER JUROR FEE 145.36 TARA CALL JUROR FEE 62.74 CHARRON LAWN CARE 4TH APP FERT 435.00 TESS CHYTKA JUROR FEE 39.02 ALICIA CLARK JUROR FEE 35.27 RAYMOND CRONK JUROR FEE 148.04 CHRISTINA DAHLBERG JUROR FEE 141.08 DATA PROCESSING 150.00 DAS STATE ACCOUNTING-CENTRAL DAN DENAEYER JUROR FEE 35.00

DEWINOCK DEST CONTROL I.I.C	CEDVICEC	F0.00
DEWROCK PEST CONTROL LLC	SERVICES	50.00
MONTE DICKMAN	JUROR FEE	44.38
JOSEPH DUGAS	JUROR FEE	57.11
EAKES OFFICE SOLUTIONS	SUPPLIES	35.48
FLECTION CYCTENAC O COETIMADE	ELECTION	57.00
ELECTION SYSTEMS & SOFTWARE	EXPENSE	57.26
VELMA EWOLDT	JUROR FEE	35.00
KRISTIN GANOUNG	JUROR FEE	58.05
RICHARD GILES	JUROR FEE	57.91
GREAT PLAINS HEALTH	JURY EXPENSE	248.00
KYLE HAAKE	JUROR FEE	40.76
NATHAN HANSON	JUROR FEE	57.91
MICK HARTWIG	JUROR FEE	140.00
RONDA HAUMANN	JUROR FEE	140.00
WILMA HEINOWSKI	JUROR FEE	58.45
MICHAEL HODGES	JUROR FEE	141.60
KASEY HOFFMAN	JUROR FEE	35.00
KEVIN HOOD	JUROR FEE	35.00
GORDON HUDDLE	JUROR FEE	35.54
CAILYN JAMESON	JUROR FEE	37.95
GARNETT JAMESON	JUROR FEE	149.12
RICHARD JAMESON	JUROR FEE	37.95
ROYCE JENNINGS	JUROR FEE	57.65
JEFFREY JOHNSTON	JUROR FEE	58.58
LONNIE LARSEN	JUROR FEE	47.46
KAY LEE	JUROR FEE	35.00
BRIDGET LICKING	JUROR FEE	35.54
MEGAN LICKING	JUROR FEE	80.83
MELISSA LICKING	JUROR FEE	58.85
RICHARD LICKING	JUROR FEE	60.46
ROGER LICKING	JUROR FEE	60.73
TANNA LICKING	JUROR FEE	60.46
TERRI LICKING	JUROR FEE	57.78
LINDEMEIER LAW OFFICE	ATTY FEES	738.44
BRANDA MARSH	JUROR FEE	38.08
LISA MARTEN	JUROR FEE	232.20
TIMOTHY MASEBERG	JUROR FEE	50.01
	JUROR FEE	80.02
DAWN MCFADDEN TL MEYER	JUROR FEE	41.43
		41.43
SHALEE MORRISON	JUROR FEE	
JEANETTE NAILLON	JUROR FEE	220.40 35.80
GALEN NEBEN	JUROR FEE	
DIANA NELSON	JUROR FEE	35.40
NORTHEAST NEBRASKA JUVENILE SERVICE	HOUSING	152.50
TANYA OSIENGER	JUROR FEE	35.40
SHANE PETTIT	JUROR FEE	79.49
UNITED STATES POSTMASTER	POSTAGE	146.00
RUSSELL REISER	JUROR FEE	35.00
ERIC RIDENOUR	JUROR FEE	35.00
DARREN RINESTINE	JUROR FEE	35.54
ROBERT ROBINSON	JUROR FEE	140.00
BRYAN RODOCKER	JUROR FEE	57.65
BENJAMIN SANDINE	JUROR FEE	55.77
TRICIA SCHUKEI	JUROR FEE	52.15
BOBBI SCOTT	JUROR FEE	35.80
MALLORY SIKES	JUROR FEE	67.70
CAITLIN SIMMONDS	JUROR FEE	35.00
WILLIAM JOSEPH SMITH	MEALS - TRIAL	80.00
JOHN STAUB	JUROR FEE	49.74
SHALEY STITHEM	JUROR FEE	89.94
KAREN SWISHER	JUROR FEE	252.04
MARK TEAHON	JUROR FEE	172.95
	PAPER SERVICE	_
THOMAS COUNTY ATTORNEY	FEE	90.52
JOHN THOMAS	JUROR FEE	55.10
U S BANK	FUEL	60.39
VERIZON WIRELESS	PHONE	80.02
DANIEL P WADAS	JUROR FEE	142.16
SETH WILLIAMS	JUROR FEE	46.93
TWYLA WITT	JUROR FEE	35.00

NMC EXCHANGE LLC	REPAIRS LOADER	6224.57
VICITORS INARROVENATALT FUND		
VISITORS IMPROVEMENT FUND-		
LLOYD W BENJAMIN	TABLES	920.00
TRIPLE G REDIMIX, LLC	CONCRETE	685.75
EXTENSION FUND-		
TL MEYER	BATTERY	73.80
THERESA THOMAS	MEALS	27.23
LIBRARY FUND-		
APPLIED CONNECTIVE TECHNOLOGIES	SERVICES	245.00
BOOKMOBILE FUND-		
APPLIED CONNECTIVE TECHNOLOGIES	SERVICES	70.00
BRODART CO.	BOOKS	241.50
ARPA FUND-		
VILLAGE OFA76:C105 THEDFORD	ARPA GRANT	1679.68

## Office reports:

The rural reappraisal of Thomas County started today with Central Plains Valuation going to all the rural homesites. Letters were mailed to homeowners on October 4<sup>th</sup> advising them of the project. Early Voting has begun in Thomas County, 45 early vote ballots have been given out so far.

Treasurer presented a financial report of all funds. The ARPA fund has now been zeroed out.

Sheriff gave an activity report and also an inmate report. The speed study has been completed on Hwy 2, now just waiting on the report to be released.

Motion made by Daly and second by Herbaugh to accept all office/fee reports. Roll call vote: Ayes – Daly, Moody, Herbaugh. Nays – none. Motion carried.

Motion made by Daly and second by Herbaugh to approve/accept the management representation letter for Don Wilson. Roll call vote: Ayes – Moody, Daly, Herbaugh. Nays – none. Motion carried.

Motion made by Moody and second by Daly to approve the Amended Resolution #2024-14, Village of Thedford ARPA grant in the amount of \$1,679.68. Roll call vote: Ayes – Daly, Herbaugh, Moody. Nays – none. Motion carried.

No action taken on the Thomas County Library board members and terms. Tabled until November  $5^{\rm th}$  meeting.

Chair Moody recessed the meeting at 10:00 a.m. to enter into the Board of Equalization meeting.

Chair Moody reconvened the meeting at 10:19 a.m.

No public comment.

Chair Moody adjourned the meeting at 10:22 a.m.

The next regular meeting of the Thomas County Board of Commissioners will be held on Tuesday, November 5, 2024 at 8:30 a.m., in the Commissioners meeting room of the Thomas County Courthouse, Thedford, NE. An agenda will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Thomas County Clerk during regular business hours. Additions to the agenda may be made up to 24 hours before the meeting.

Pamela S. Moody, Chair	Lorissa Hartman, Thomas County Clerk	
Thomas County Board of Commissioners	Attest:	
24 hours before the meeting.		